About Us

Who We Are and
What We Do

The Municipal Gas Authority of Georgia (Gas Authority) is the largest non-profit natural gas joint-action agency in the United States, serving 83 Members in Georgia, Alabama, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, and Florida that meet the gas needs of more than 260,000 customers. In addition, the agency provides services to 16 other agencies and public systems referred to as “Municipal Customers”. The Gas Authority also serves as the manager of both Public Gas Partners, Inc. (PGP) and Main Street Natural Gas, Inc. (Main Street), which acquire and provide economical natural gas reserves, in the case of PGP, and long-term prepaid natural gas supplies, in the case of Main Street, to The Gas Authority and other public systems.


Gas Authority was formed in 1987 by an Act of the Georgia General Assembly to assist municipal Members who own and operate natural gas distribution systems. Member and Municipal Customer systems are located on the pipeline facilities of 12 interstate pipelines. The Gas Authority provides a broad array of gas supply, marketing and other related services, which deliver significant benefits to its Members, Municipal Customers and the communities they serve.

Services include gas supply, pipeline capacity and storage management, supply and capacity planning, regulatory representation, industrial customer assistance, budget assistance, rate design, market development, communications, project financing, risk management assistance, regulatory compliance, and training.

Environmental Responsibility Statement

Environmental stewardship is important to us, and natural gas has an important role. We recognize that safeguarding our environment is a responsibility we all share. Natural gas enhances our quality of life through affordable and reliable energy contributing to humankind’s prosperity and a clean environment; and energy diversity, choice and security are key to spurring innovation, improving economic well-being, and effective environmental stewardship.

The Gas Authority and its Members are committed to provide natural gas energy services that result in affordable, reliable and secure energy and a clean, sustainable environment, and we support energy innovation that contributes to these objectives.


To provide municipalities a reliable, economical supply of natural gas, and to assist them in developing and growing their gas systems to optimize the benefits of public ownership.

Board of Directors

  • Chairman
    Todd Hardigree, Natural Gas Director, City of Lawrenceville
  • Vice Chairman
    Luther “Buddy” Duke III, Mayor, City of Adel
  • Secretary-Treasurer
    Bruce Maples, Assistant City Manager, City of Albany
  • Shelly Berryhill, Commissioner, City of Hawkinsville
  • Matthew Bradshaw, Engineering Director, City of Dublin
  • Chris White, Interim City Manager, City of Thomasville
  • Jon Herschell, City Manager, City of Hartwell
  • Jon Mason, Assistant Gas Superintendent, Chambersburg Municipal Gas Department
  • Donna McKay, Mayor, Town of Wadley, AL
  • Daren Perkins, Gas Superintendent, City of Buford
  • Irving Thompson, General Manager, East Central Alabama Gas District (Ashland, AL)
  • Kenneth Usry, Mayor, City of Thomson


  • Arthur Corbin – President, Chief Executive Officer, and Chief Membership Officer
  • Susan Reeves – Chief Financial Officer
  • Rodney Dill – Vice President, Market Development
  • Scott Tolleson – Vice President, Member Support
  • Tina Smith – Vice President, Gas Supply, Operations & Risk Management

General Counsel

  • Alston & Bird

Independent Auditors

  • Ernst & Young – Atlanta, GA


  • The Bank of New York, New York, NY